RSS

A New Blog is Born!

07 Mar

welcome_squirrel_1

There’s something that I absolutely love about blogging. It’s like putting together a pseudo-diary of your not-so-personal thoughts and putting it out there for all the internet to see. If you’re lucky you might come across some like-minded people and engage in scintillating and educational conversation; if you’re incredibly lucky your blog becomes a hit and you become somewhat of an internet sensation, which is kind of like being a celebrity but without the necessary talent to back it up, which I’m OK with. If it doesn’t take off then it’s nothing more than a literary form of speaking to yourself, but I’m oddly OK with that as well.

For just over 3 years I ran The B-Horror Blog, a blog dedicated to watching and reviewing some of the worst movies that direct-to-dvd and micro budgets could possibly throw my way. The problem with that was that it was created for a very specific purpose: I started the blog just after I registered for my Masters degree, with the idea being that writing about awful movies could distract me from having to do any actual research. 3 years later I actually managed to get the degree completed, and the blog just kind of came to a halt as I started to slowly piece together the semblance of a normal life that I’d heard other people talking about for so long.

At one point I also started a (very short-lived) sister blog for The B-Horror Blog, whose name I’ve long since forgotten, that focussed on doing deeply emotional and psychological readings of terrible pop songs (Kim Kardashian’s Jam (Turn It Up), for example). Whilst that was a lot of fun, there simply weren’t enough terrible pop songs that I could do that with, so it also kind of died a premature death. I also toyed with the idea of starting a blog called 8 Bit Hero, which I wanted to use to do reviews of games available on Nintendo’s 3DS and Wii U Virtual Consoles. The problem with that is that, giving it a little thought, a lot of the games available on the service are not limited to consoles from the 8-bit era, and I didn’t have it in me to come up with a better title, so that idea fell flat before it even got off the ground.

After all of these attempts, however, the fact remains that I love blogging, I love watching the occasional awful movie, I like reading things into terrible pop songs that aren’t there, and I love playing really old games on really new consoles. With all that in mind, I decided that the best thing to do would be to consolidate all of those things into one single blog which could house all these ideas (and any more that may occur to me as I go along). The unholy offspring of this thought process: A World of Weird. Here I want to post about all the things that interest me, that I have fun doing, that confuse me, and that have me dancing around in my underwear in my kitchen at 2am on a work night.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
